Hampshire Chess Association 2014 Congress.

(Eastleigh, 7-9 Nov, 2014)

Tony Corkett has regained the Hampshire Championship and the Silver Rook after a gap of eight years by winning outright a very strong top section.

Tony was in impressive form, and was a clear point ahead going into the last round. A quick draw sufficed.

Second place was a three-way tie between Rowan Brown, Gavin Lock and David Pye.

Harry Grieve and David Fowler shared the Under-175 grading prize, with Harry taking the Len Walters trophy on tie-break.

And a similar story in the Major Section, where Matthew Wilson went into the last round with a 1-pt lead. His win in the final round gave him a 100% score in the games he played.

Gareth Jones and Robin Williams shared second place, with Gareth taking the Peter Marshall trophy on tie-break. Gareth is the Hampshire Under-160 champion, as Matthew Wilson is not a Hampshire player.

Rob Hewitt and Keith Osborne shared the Under-140 grading prize.

The Minor Section produced a close-fought contest, but James Barnett managed to hold on to a small lead to the end of the tournament.

Colin Gardiner and Michael Pope shared 2^{nd} place, and the Under-100 grading prize went to David Murchie.

Our new Ladies prize was won by Gillian Moore for the best score by a lady player. Here are the full results:

Open

1st (5 pts) Tony Corkett (Fareham) Hampshire county champion, wins the Silver rook.

2nd= (4 pts) Rowan Brown (Hove), Gavin Lock (Horsham) and David Pye (Hampshire)

Under-175 Grading Prize (3 pts) Harry Grieve (Farnham) (wins the Len Walters trophy) and David Fowler (Hamble)

13 started, 12 finished.

<u>Major</u>

1st (5½ pts) Matthew Wilson (Paignton)

2nd= (4 pts) Gareth Jones (Southampton) holds the Peter Marshall trophy for one year, and Robin Williams (Southampton)

Under-140 Grading prize (3½ pts) Rob Hewitt (Southampton University) and Keith Osborne (Lewes)

26 started, 23 finished.

Minor

1st (5 pts) James Barnett (Salisbury) holds the Parsons trophy for one year,

2nd= (4½ pts) Colin Gardiner (Newmarket) and Michael Pope (Salisbury)

Under-100 Grading Prize (3 pts) David Murchie (Southampton).

24 started, 22 finished.

Ladies Prize (a new trophy – the Gillian Moore Cup)

1st (3½ pts) Gillian Moore (Southampton).

John Wheeler (Sec, Hampshire C.A.) 11/Nov/2014