Hampshire Chess Association 2015 Congress.

(Eastleigh, 6-8 Nov, 2015)

Tony Corkett has retained the Hampshire Championship and the Silver Rook, but only by the narrowest of margins. Tony was one of three players who finished with 4 points, but the real winner was Rowan Brown with the splendid score of 5½ points. Rowan is from Sussex, and is not eligible to be the Hampshire champion.

Second place was a tie between Tony Corkett and Gavin Lock.

The Under-175 grading prize was won by Horia Bogdan with 4 points. Horia could have claimed a share of 2^{nd} prize, but as sole winner of the grading prize, he received a bigger cheque.

In the Major Section Matthew Wilson again proved too strong for the opposition, scoring 5/6, although he did not have things all his own way. Raja Pentakota was runner-up, and took the Hampshire trophy, the Peter Marshall Cup, with 4½ points.

Third place was shared by Les Allen, Phil Foley and Gavin Fong, all with 4 points. And the Under-140 grading prize went to promising junior Frazer Graham.

grading prize went to promising junior Prazer Granam.

The Minor Section was won convincingly by Stephen Gow, who won his last five games. Martin Baxter returned to chess after a long absence and achieved 2nd place with 5/6. Third place was shared by Ivor Kelly and James Wallman on 4 points.

The Under-100 grading prize went to Keven Lamb.

The Ladies prize was won by Maha Chandar, ahead of Gillian Moore.

Here are the full results:

Open

1st (5½ pts) Rowan Brown (Hove)

2nd= (4 pts) Tony Corkett (Fareham) and Gavin Lock (Horsham)

Under-175 Grading Prize (4 pts) Horia Bogdan (Southampton University).

13 started, 12 finished.

Major

1st (5 pts) Matthew Wilson (Paignton)

2nd (4½ pts) Raja Pentakota (Southampton) winning the Peter Marshall trophy.

3rd= (4 pts) Les Allen (Southampton), Phil Foley (Upminster) and Gavin Fong (Southampton University).

Under-140 Grading prize (3½ pts) Frazer Graham (Fareham).

23 started, 17 finished.

Minor

1st (5½ pts) Stephen Gow (Southampton University) holds the Parsons trophy for one year,

2nd (5 pts) Martin Baxter (Cowplain)

3rd= (4 pts) Ivor Kelly (Camberley) and James Wallman (Verwood)

Under-100 Grading Prize (3½ pts) Keven Lamb (Chandlers Ford).

20 started, 17 finished.

Ladies Prize (the Gillian Moore Cup)

1st (3 pts) Maha Chandar (Chandlers Ford)

John Wheeler (Sec, Hampshire C.A.) 9/Nov/2015