

President: Peter Fales Secretary: Graham Stuart Affiliated: English Chess Federation and West of England Chess Union

Hampshire Chess Congress 2024 Summary

The Hampshire Chess Association 2024 Congress was held at the Lysses Hotel in Fareham on the 1st to the 3rd November 2024 with a record 92 entries playing across three sections.

A change from the previous year saw the Congress held over 5 rounds, with an increased time control on 90+30. This is in keeping with other Congresses, as this seems a well liked time-control.

Jack Wicken joined the ranks of current and previous Fareham Chess Club players who have won the Hampshire Individual Championship, and the Silver Rook Trophy. Jack finished with six other players in 2nd place in the Open with 3½ points from the five rounds.

The winner of the Open was IM Petr Marusenko who defeated FM John Merriman in the last round, overhauling him and finished with 4 points.

Southampton University's David Collyer who was also joint 2nd won the Len Walters Board for best score by a Hampshire Under 1950 player (excluding the winner of the Silver Rook).

As per last year the Open section was run as a FIDE rated event and this attracted 34 players, which was the most of all sections.

In the Major section (27 players) Tomasz Wilamowski just dropped the one draw and his 4½ points was half a point ahead of three players. This included Thomas Philidor who took home the Peter Marshall Cup for best score by an eligible Hampshire player. Thomas won the Parsons Cup two years ago.

In the Minor section (31 players), it was the Megan Birch show, she won all five games to finish a full point ahead of Michal Orszulak. Megan also won the Parsons Cup as the best Hampshire qualified player.

The full list of prize winners is:

OPFN

(4 pts) IM Petr Marusenko (Hackney)

2nd = (3½ pts) John Merriman (Petts Wood & Orpington), Avyukt Dasgupta (Watford), David Collyer (So'ton Uni), Sebastian Mokhber-Garcia (Surrey



President: Peter Fales Secretary: Graham Stuart Affiliated: English Chess Federation and West of England Chess Union

Juniors), David Cordner (Southampton), Jack Wicken (Fareham), Balahari Bharat Kumar (Desert Penguins)

Under-1950 RP (3½ pts) David Collyer, Sebastian Mokhber-Garcia & Jack Wicken (combined with 2nd place prize)

The Silver Rook was won by Jack Wicken.

The Len Walters Board was won by David Collyer

MAJOR

1st (4½ pts) Tomasz Wilamowski

2nd (4 pts) Richard H Edney (IOW), Tim Jones (New Milton), Thomas Philidor Fareham)

Under-1700 RP (3½ pts) – Alex Dore (Southampton), Lewis Jackson (So'ton Uni)

The Peter Marshall Cup was awarded to Thomas Philidor as the best placed Hampshire qualified player.

MINOR

(5 pts) Megan Birch (Basingstoke) who also wins the Parsons Cup

2nd (4 pts) Michal Orszulak

3rd (3½ pts) Oleksii Pustyntsev, Oliver J Ward (So'ton Uni), Hin Long Isaac Yip (Chandler's Ford), Paul S Collis (Godalming)

Under-1450 Grading Prize (3½ pts) David Lightfoot (IOW)

The Gillian Moore Cup, which is awarded to the highest scoring Hampshire lady in the Congress, was won by Megan Birch (Basingstoke) for her maximum score in the Minor.

The John Dunleavy Memorial Prize for the best game in any section will be announced later, on the Hampshire website – www.HampshireChess.co.uk

Graham Stuart Secretary - Hampshire Chess Association