# Young players shine at the Hampshire Chess Congress

The Hampshire Chess Association 2023 Congress was held at the Lysses Hotel in Fareham on the 3rd to the 5th November 2023 with a record 90 entries playing across three sections.

Iwan Cave (Chandlers Ford) retained the Hampshire Individual Championship and the Silver Rook Trophy on tie-break from Tom Bird (Portsmouth). Two other players also finished level on 4½ points from the six rounds.

The Open section was run as a FIDE rated event for the first time, resulting in a big increase in players competing for the first prize over recent years.

Last year, Iwan became the youngest winner of the Hampshire Individual, a tournament that has been running since 1930, and is now a two-time champion before the age of 17. Iwan now has his eye on Tony Corkett's record of 10 Championship titles. Iwan is also now representing Wales at the Fide World Youth Chess Championship in November.

In the minor section, another junior and former Pilgrim's School pupil, Freddie Christou-Moore finished clear first with 5 out of 6, and as the highest scoring Hampshire qualified player in the section he also won the Parsons cup.

The University of Southampton Chess Club was the largest single cohort, with a great turnout of 14 players.

The full list of prize winners is:

## OPEN

1st = (4½ pts) Iwan Cave (Chandlers Ford), Finn Schell (Southbourne), Peter Hasson (Farnham), Tom Bird (Portsmouth)

Under-2015 Grading Prize (3½ pts) Richard Thorburn (So'ton Uni), Abhishek Pradhan (Reading), Colin Knight (Basingstoke), David Cordner (Southampton),

Kai Sandbrink (Oxford University), Aleksandrs Karasevics (Southampton), Martin Clancy (Ringwood)

- The Silver Rook was won by Iwan Cave
- The Len Walters Board was won by Tom Bird

# **MAJOR**

1st = (5 pts) Brendan O'Gorman (DHSS), Edward Blanden (Emsworth) 3rd = (4½ pts) Tim Jones (New Milton), Andrew Waters (Rainham Kent) Under-1750 Grading Prize (4 pts) – Daniel Miller (Horsham)

- The Peter Marshall Cup was awarded to Edward Blanden (Emsworth) as the best placed Hampshire qualified player.

### MINOR

1st (5 pts) Frederick Christou-Moore (Eton College) who also wins the Parsons Cup

2nd = (4½ pts) Edward Burton (So'ton Uni), Michael Eason (Chichester) Under-1450 Grading Prize (4 pts) Ben Hermanns (So'ton Uni)

The Gillian Moore Cup, which is awarded to the highest scoring Hampshire lady in the Congress, was shared by Helen Archer-Lock (So'ton Uni) in the Major and Rosamund Hale (Southampton) in the Minor with 3½ points.

The John Dunleavy Memorial Prize for the best game in any section will be announced later, on the Hampshire website – www.HampshireChess.co.uk

Finally, the Hampshire Chess Association would like to say a big thank you to Kevin Thurlow for his work at this year's congress. Kevin is a well known arbiter on the UK chess circuit, and has been our arbiter for many years. This weekend he announced our event was his last ever congress as an arbiter.

#### Peter Eales

Vice-president Hampshire Chess Association