## Hampshire Chess Association 2016 Congress.

(Eastleigh, 4-6 Nov, 2016)

Tony Corkett has beaten Marshall Thompson's record of nine wins in the Hampshire county championship by winning this year's title. This is his 10<sup>th</sup> win, and his 3<sup>rd</sup> in the last three years. But he did not have it all his own way. He was ½ a point behind Matt Chapman going into the last round, but a convincing win over Matt gave him the title.

Second place was a tie between David Fowler and Keith Gregory, with Matt Chapman winning the Under-175 Grading Prize.

In the Major section, Joe Coburn proved too strong for the opposition, finishing a clear point ahead of Gillian Moore and 13-year old Paul Northcott in 2<sup>nd</sup> place.

The Under-140 Grading prize was shared by Mark Stone, Chris Smith and Paul Hurn.

The Minor Section was very popular this year, and very closely fought. Four players tied for  $1^{st}$  place with  $4\frac{1}{2}$  points – Tim Cutter, Martyn Maber, Richard Slade and 7-year-old Shreyas Royal. Tim Cutter won the Hampshire title and trophy on tie-break. The Under-100 Grading prize was also shared – Rob Davies and Ryan Cheung each scored 4 points.

The Ladies prize was regained this year by Gillian Moore, after letting it go last year.

Here are the full results:

## **Open**

1<sup>st</sup> (4½ pts) Tony Corkett (Fareham)

2<sup>nd</sup>= (4 pts) David Fowler (Gosport) and Keith Gregory (Fareham)

Under-175 Grading Prize (4 pts) Matt Chapman (Fareham).

12 started, 11 finished.

## Major

1<sup>st</sup> (5 pts) Joe Coburn (Gosport) winning the Peter Marshall trophy.

2<sup>nd</sup>= (4 pts) and Paul Northcott (Emsworth).

Under-140 Grading Prize (3 pts) Mark Stone (Petts Wood & Orpington), Chris Smith (Fareham) and Paul Hurn (Southampton)

13 started, 12 finished.

## Minor

1<sup>st</sup>= (4½ pts) Tim Cutter (Hampshire) (winning the Parsons trophy), Martyn Maber (Taunton), Richard Slade (Chandlers Ford) and Shreyas Royal (Hampstead).

Under-100 Grading Prize (4 pts) Rob Davies (Fareham) and Ryan Cheung (Southampton University) 29 started, 29 finished.

This year we were able to offer a best game prize – the John Dunleavy Memorial prize. The winner will be announced on the Hampshire website – www,HampshireChess.co.uk

John Wheeler (Sec, Hampshire C.A.) 7/Nov/2016